top of page
Search

REVIEW: Trap-A-Lot - B Side Lounge

It's great to live within a distance where you don't have to go far to run into great entertainment. Also what helps is that you are in a place where the force is strong with the local talent. Indeed, by 9 PM Saturday, I found myself in the duration of a 5-min walk from my place of residence to the B Side Lounge. Now, the middle of November is normally a bit dismal and in my own opinion, a bit boring. However, with that being said, this can all depend on your local environment (and whether you yourself are a boring-ass sap or not) and as I was to find, my local environment is anything but boring.


So I walk over to the B Side Lounge. I note that upstairs is a band playing but are practically finished for the night. That however, was not what I was after. Instead, I had aimed to check out the evening's downstairs event: Trap-A-Lot.


Now, this is basically three DJs: BMW, DJ Nuera & DJ Justwill. Although I never got to meet any of them in person, as they were all hidden away behind the table, I can say that they know what they are doing.


If you're good at DJing, it becomes an art in and of itself. And if your great at DJing, you change lives. No joke, but some people have walked into a venue thinking the world was caving in only to later emerge... REBORN.


Anyway, it turns out that these guys are GREAT at it. In fact, they were so "un-boring" I found myself downing far more beers than I had originally planned on. And they did this by using a particular selection of tunes... all rightly timed and played out... perfectly blended. And they were NEVER boring.


Not boring.


You know what many musicians suffer from?


They suffer from being boring.


That and not "sounding good." Indeed, what can make music suck is when its both boring and bad sounding. There is nothing worse than trying to find entertainment and then running into something that is even more boring than yourself.


Anyway,


THE POSITIVE: They played their sets at the PERFECT volume. I dunno how they managed this, but maybe they are used to this club, or maybe they conduct quantum physics assessments of the internal acoustics of the venues they perform at before they perform at them. It was just loud enough that I could feel it and get right into it, but not be overwhelmed by it. And they did this perfectly. Second, they didn't play any DOWNER shit. Nope, all their selections were up and suitable for a Saturday night.


No shitty downer tunes. Each and everything they played was banging.


THE NEGATIVE: I didn't order any shots. I dunno what was wrong with me. If I had of had my head on straight, I would have had at least 1 shot per every 2 beers. The vibe was screaming great times, so this was no time to be sitting and nursing beers. So, BMW, DJ Nuera and DJ Justwill get 10 on 10 for their part. Also, I had to leave early. And not only was it early, but it was also the wrong time to be leaving. It was just after midnight and the night was just beginning. So I fucked up twice here, but the crew came through.


5 stars out of 5 for this one.


I'll be back next time, hopefully with more people and 1 shot for every 2 beers.


53 views0 comments
bottom of page