top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGeorge Styles

REVIEW - King Chip Presents: Ripp Flamez, M.Stacks, Quentin Miller, Big 40, Trapper Entertainment.

All the dreariness of Sunday evenings vanishes when there is something going on at the Grog Shop. Indeed, instead of being completely bummed the fuck out by the ever looming Monday morning, all this disappears with a trip over to check out what is going on at the corner of Coventry and Euclid Heights Blvd.


So, I pay cover, go in, grab a big-ass can of Pabst (Cause it's only $4 for a big-ass can) and seat myself at the bar facing the stage. Already the DJ crew has a bunch of things rolling and immediately I find myself chilling out to a backdrop of what's to come. Surely at this time, the place is still filling up and the sound guys are getting things in proper form for the evening. Now, tonight's gig is a lineup of some out-of-town and local and up-and-coming artists -Our talent of the future- and of course, if you know me, I am all for the underdog.


But the big deal here is and was Ripp Flamez.


Why? He's a Cleveland lad.


Why else? He's got a Worldstar video:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mCuEuQ3mDHI


But mostly: He's good. Well, actually, he's GREAT. And more so, He's a fuckin' performer. And to top it off, again, he's from Cleveland.


But seriously, this cat can rap. And he went off on a few lines that I don't think there was even a nano-scale slip up in regards to timing or rhythm EVEN FUCKING ONCE.


Even once.


And let me tell you, I could go on and on about his set, how well he did, yeah yeah, this and that. But before I write any further, let me get something off my chest:


The state of the audience.


Now, don't get me wrong, there were some beauties in the audience. So let's not forget that. But these great folk aside, either most of the crowd bum-rushing the stage was hit with a wave of imposter syndrome once they got there or had toked up WAY TOO MUCH before the show. The performance of every single act that night was spot on and was great but the audience... some of the audience... a portion of the audience... was... well... uhhh...


Well, the audience could have been a whole lot more into it. They could also have been a lot LOUDER and LOVING for the night's performers who gave it their all. Especially given they got RF up there, their own flesh and blood... who let me remind you again, HAS WORLDSTAR VIDS out a... oh... let's say... a wee bit more LOVE.


THE POSITIVE: The performances/performers. The $15 cover was totally worth it.


THE NEGATIVE: Audience needed to make more noise. A whole lot more.


So a 10/10 for the performers and a "Needs Improvement" grade for the audience.


DISCLAIMER: "Needs Improvement" is not the same as "FAIL". I still believe in the audience, it's just that I know they could have done better.



53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page