top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGeorge Styles

My Campaign: Chronic Calamity the Film

Let's clarify again why I am asking for donations.


It's because I wish to make my book into a movie.


Of course, as my topic is not the political flavor du jour, it stands pretty much no chance of being picked up by a major production company. Of course, it didn't take me long to realize this. So if I realized it, then why on earth did I write the damn book and the spec script in the 1st place?


Because I believe it is GREAT.


I fully believe in my work and I think it has potential to become a CLASSIC.


And when it comes to following the insane masses, I have never ever been on board. If everyone is diving in head first, I always take that to be a red flag. I personally don't watch TV. And I am quite picky about the movies I expose myself to after having been burned far too many times. Now, perhaps my work isn't someone's cup of tea, and that might more than often be the case. However, let's be honest, there is always a given number of anti-fans for any movies/show/painting/drawing, etc. So, it stands that I need to find my audience.


So why $5000?


Why? Because it can be used as a bargaining tool. It shows that I would not be simply walking into a potential deal without having SKIN IN THE GAME. If my finance team (You, if and/or when you wish to donate) and I can show that we also stand to lose, should the production fail miserably, it is very likely that a company would take the whole thing seriously. And it's $5000 because films are never cheap. However, this film would be cheaper than most as it doesn't require extensive props and complicated sets.


So when you donate, you are joining a team in building something.


Something big.


To date, I haven't done at all well enough to even consider making a movie. As of now, there is more than 30 days left, but if things continue on in the current trend, it will be back to the drawing board for Yours Truly. Fair enough, cause I won't stop. I get that many people might not be able to donate or that donating is a hassle of sorts. Don't get me wrong, I get you 100%. I hate having to deal with PayPal and Credit Cards all just to type it into a computer to donate a few bucks. So in terms of money donations, don't worry, I completely get where you are coming from.


But you can still help out.


And you can help out BIG without donating cash.


As some people have already done, they have SHARED my posts and supported them with LIKES. This provides me with VALIDATION which is just, if not even more important, than cash donations. For if I am able to generate enough hype, perhaps a production company might take note, and this would be essentially the same thing.


So you can help by spreading the word.


And this is important because Facebook and Instagram clamp down on posts that they could in theory, charge for exposure. That's their new business model. Cut out exposure until the poster realizes that no one is seeing their posts. I have had an immensely difficult time with this.


So, to summarize, I am NOT giving up.


I will get my stuff out there one way or another.



43 views0 comments
bottom of page